CELT Project (MS image source: CPG 359 copyright Uni-Bibl. Heidelberg)
CELT - Corpus of Electronic Texts
Documents of Ireland
Home About News FAQ Published Captured Search Languages Contact Resources People

Oscar Wilde

Chronology of Oscar Wilde

Works published at CELT
1854: Oscar Fingal O'Flahertie Wills Wilde born in Dublin.
1871: began studying classics at Trinity College Dublin
1874: began studies at Magdalen College, Oxford (UK)
1878: won Newdigate Prize for his poem Ravenna; takes degree
1879: settled in London
1881: Poems published
1882: began one year lecture tour of North America
1883: Duchess of Padua (play) written
1884: married Constance Lloyd and lived in Chelsea (London)
1885: elder son, Cyril, born; writes reviews for Pall Mall Gazette
1886: younger son, Vyvyan, born
1887: became editor of Woman's World; The Canterville Ghost written
1888: The Happy Prince and Other Tales
1889: The Portrait of Mr. W. H.
1891: A House of Pomegranates, The Picture of Dorian Gray, Lord Arthur Savile's Crime, Intentions (essays); meets Lord Alfred Douglas ("Bosie")
1892: Lady Windermere's Fan produced; Salomé (written in French) banned
1893: A Woman of No Importance produced; The Sphinx written
1894: Salomé published
1895: An Ideal Husband and The Importance of Being Earnest produced
1895: sued Marquess of Queensbury for libel; sued by Marquess of Queensbury; found guilty of "unnatural practices"; sent to Reading Gaol (Berkshire)
1897: De Profundis written; released from prison; lived in France, Italy and Switzerland; adopted name of Sebastian Melmoth
1898: Ballad of Reading Gaol published; death of his wife, Constance
30 November 1900: died in France; buried at Père Lachaise cemetery, Paris

Richard Ellmann, Oscar Wilde (London: Hamish Hamilton 1987)
Philippe Jullian, Oscar Wilde (London: Constable 1969)

celtic knot
University College Cork

© 1997–2021 Corpus of Electronic Texts (UCC)
Email CELT: b.faerber(at)ucc.ie

University College Cork